online

Rosa Maria Unda Souki & Christina Chirouze Montenegro

Side to Side #1 — Talks between artists and curators

Saturday, April 11 2020, at 12:00 am

En ligne | Online
Links (1) Our partners

 

Inanimate objects, do you then have a soul that clings to our soul and the strength to love? wrote Lamartine two centuries ago.

 

Today, the Venezuelan-Brazilian artist Rosa María Unda Souki could make this quote her own. A great nomad, she dedicated her work to the houses that marked her path, either because she lived there or because others did: Federico García Lorca, Frida Kahlo. She has documented this "sensitive archaeology" of private spaces with extensive research on the life, tastes, habits and significant moments that these walls have seen. They are places that keep a spirit, a memory. More than just "living there", they are "inhabited".

In a time of compulsory and international isolation, we all find ourselves, for the first time in the history of humanity, confronted with these places that we call "home". "Stay at home": unanimous injunction, translated into all languages.

 

During an unusual residency at the Cité internationale des arts, Rosa María Unda Souki is interviewed by Christina Chirouze Montenegro, through the use of screens. She, who is so attached to private spaces, shares with us her past research and her reflections on today's world... in confinement.

 

Christina Chirouze Montenegro

 

Christina Chirouze Montenegro

Christina Chirouze Montenegro, of Guatemalan origin, has been an independent curator since 2010. She is the founder of the curatorial collective Coffeexhibits

 

Particularly attached to Latin America, Christina Chirouze Montenegro participates in many projects to promote this territory. In particular, she is the founding president of the AcÁ-Paris association for the promotion of Central American art in Europe. 

In 2019, she also curated several exhibitions for the Maison de l'Amérique Latine (Lisières David Solís & Mimesis Marlov Barrios).

She is currently co-curator with Michel Bouvet and Daniel Lefort of the 2020 edition of the Echirolles Graphic Design Month: Latin America: a graphic passion. 

 

Member of the Associated Curators Association (C-E-A), Christina Chirouze Montenegro was immediately attracted by Rosa Maria Unda Souki's work on the houses of the Spanish poet García Lorca and more broadly on the home as a space of intimacy.

Rosa Maria Unda Souki

Rosa Maria Unda Souki is a painter and writer of Venezuelan and Brazilian origin. She is a recipient of the Cité internationale des arts Visual Arts Committees.

 

Her work focuses on memory and the everyday life of the "home" as an intimate space. Her works raise the question of the permanence of spaces and objects and the fleetingness of human presence. 

Her creative process is reflected in a first phase of research (iconographic, bibliographical, historical and photographic) but also in the creation of a notebook containing annotations and personal sketches. 

 

Rosa Maria Unda Souki has been exhibited in Paris, Madrid, London, New York and Sao Paulo. 

Between December 2017 and February 2018, she was invited by the Fondation Hermès to exhibit her project around the Blue House by Frida Kahlo Angle London and Allende at the Atelier Hermès in Seoul, Korea.

See Also

en ligne

Rosa Maria Unda Souki & Christina Chirouze Montenegro

Side to Side #1 — Dialogues entre artistes et commissaires

Samedi 11 avril 2020, à 00h

En ligne | Online
liens (1) partenaires

 

Objets inanimés, avez-vous donc une âme qui s’attache à notre âme et la force d’aimer ? écrivait Lamartine il y a deux siècles.

 

Aujourd’hui, l’artiste vénézuélienne et brésilienne Rosa María Unda Souki pourrait faire sienne cette citation. Grande nomade, elle a dédié son œuvre aux maisons qui ont marqué son chemin, soit parce qu’elle y a vécu, soit parce que d’autres l’ont fait : Federico García Lorca, Frida Kahlo. Cette "archéologie sensible" des espaces du privé, elle l’a documentée avec d’amples recherches sur la vie, les goûts, les habitudes, les moments marquants qu’ont vu ces murs. Ce sont des lieux qui gardent en eux un esprit, une mémoire. Plus que simplement "y habiter", on "les habite".

En temps d’isolement obligatoire et international, nous nous trouvons tous, pour la première fois dans l’histoire de l’humanité, confrontés à ces lieux que nous appelons "chez nous". "Restez chez-vous" : injonction unanime, traduite dans toutes les langues.

 

Durant une résidence hors du commun à la Cité internationale des arts, Rosa María Unda Souki est interviewée par Christina Chirouze Montenegro, par écrans interposés. Elle qui est si attachée aux espaces privés, nous fait part de ses recherches passées et ses réflexions sur le monde actuel… en confinement.

 

Christina Chirouze Montenegro

 

Christina Chirouze Montenegro

Christina Chirouze Montenegro, d'origine guatémaltèque, est une curatrice indépendante depuis 2010. Elle est fondatrice du collectif de commissaires Coffeexhibits. 

 

Particulièrement attachée à l’Amérique Latine, Christina Chirouze Montenegro participe à de nombreux projets de valorisation de ce territoire. Elle est notamment la présidente fondatrice de l’association AcÁ-Paris pour la promotion de l’art centraméricain en Europe. 

En 2019, elle a également réalisé le commissariat de plusieurs expositions pour la Maison de l’Amérique Latine (Lisières David Solís & Mimesis Marlov Barrios).

Elle est actuellement co-curatrice aux côtés de Michel Bouvet et Daniel Lefort du Mois du graphisme d’Echirolles, édition 2020 : América latina : une passion graphique. 

 

Membre de l’association des Commissaires d’Exposition Associés (C-E-A), Christina Chirouze Montenegro a immédiatement été attirée par le travail de Rosa Maria Unda Souki sur les maisons du poète espagnol García Lorca et plus largement sur la maison comme espace de l’intime.

Rosa Maria Unda Souki

Rosa Maria Unda Souki est une artiste peintre et écrivaine d'origine vénézuélienne et brésilienne. Elle est lauréate des commissions Arts Visuels de la Cité internationale des arts. 

 

Son travail porte sur la mémoire et le quotidien de la "maison" comme espace intime. Ses oeuvres posent la question de la permanence des espaces et des objets et la fugacité de la présence humaine. 

Son processus créatif se traduit par une première phase de recherche (iconographique, bibliographique, historique et photographique) mais aussi par la réalisation d'un carnet regroupant annotations et croquis personnels. 

 

Rosa Maria Unda Souki a été exposée à Paris, Madrid, Londres, New-York et Sao Paulo. 

Entre décembre 2017 et février 2018, elle a été invitée par la Fondation Hermès à exposer son projet autour de la Maison Bleue de Frida Kahlo Angle Londres et Allende à l'Atelier Hermès à Seoul (Corée).

lire aussi